Two films…..

I went to see A Dangerous Methodthe new film about the relationship between Freud and Jung, oh and the relationship between Jung and his patient Sabine Spielrein. On one level it’s a lovely costume drama with Swiss scenery, on another it’s a thought-provoking tale of the birth of psychoanalysis. And there are too many other levels to go into here. I had dinner with a jungian analyst who said: “It’s an interpretation…”

Have you seen it? What did you think?

The relationship between Jung & Sabine, depicted in all its physicality, seemed to me to cross some patient-doctor boundaries….. as for the relationship between Freud & Jung, the aging, politically aware pragmatist, and the young, otherworldly, impractical (except for not divorcing his wealthy wife) sensualist…….

Tree on Sanitas

Tree on Sanitas on Monday. From this ........

Earlier this week it felt as if summer had arrived. The sky took on that deep Colorado blue, the rocks were sun-warmed and glowing, the trails were full of scents of pinon, spruce and juniper….

The second film was the 2001 made-for-tv film Wit starring Emma Thompson as a cerebral professor of English Literature (lecturing on Donne’s sonnet Death, be not proud). 

The doctor-patient relationship leaves something to be desired here too. It doesn’t involve sado-masochistic sex but shows the doctor as researcher and the patient as guinea pig.

......to this: view from here on Wednesday

The professor recalls the moment when she became aware that words were going to be important to her, that they could do things. She’s reading The Tale of the Flopsy Bunnies on the floor at her father’s feet (Harold Pinter). She struggles to spell out S-O-P-OR-I-FIC and her father distractedly explains the meaning. I vividly remember such a flopsy bunnies moment at about the same age. That’s how I learnt soporific – and other words she remembered resonated…..ratiocination, esoteric, arcane (back to Jung again) on hill walks in the English Lake District (Beatrix Potter again?)

Journal prompt: Write about your own Flopsy Bunnies moment or moments – the times when you realised your own relationship with words was gong to be interesting (either particular words or reading/writing in general). Who taught you to love words? 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Kate Thompson

     /  March 7, 2012

    What a wonderfully rhythmic word – I’ve been practicing saying it.
    Have you put it in a poem?
    Perhaps with other horticultural names?
    Antirhynnum or cotoneaster anyone?

    Like

    Reply
  2. justafewlittlewords

     /  March 7, 2012

    Mesembryanthemum, also known as the Livingstone Daisy was the first word that fascinated me. I was only little and I was helping my mother tidy the flower borders and asking her the names of the different kinds of flowers. When I asked her the name of some pretty little daisies and she told me their proper name, I was determined to learn how to say it, so she repeated it several times till I could say it. If anyone asks me my favourite word it’s still the first one I think of, so I guess I should say, ‘Thank’s for mesembryanthemum mum.’

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

