Reviews

Authors always like to have their books reviewed of course, to be noticed is to exist. but there is always a frisson of excitement & trepidation on opening a publication to see a published review. So when, in my September copy of Therapy Today (the journal of the British Association of Counselling and Psychotherapy), I found a review of my book Therapeutic Journal Writing: An introduction for professionals I held my breath.

The review began with the faintly encouraging statement:

This book stimulated my interest much more than I had anticipated.

Damned with faint praise anyone? Actually not if you read it as an example of British understatement. It reminds me of one of my favourite comments on a feedback form after a workshop I’d run in Lancashire:

I came to this workshop with low expectations and they were greatly exceeded.

He meant he really liked the workshop! Such things are highly culturally specific and we have to remember to re-calibrate our understanding of the scale of praise and enthusiasm depending where we are (I was recently told that here in the US ‘great’ can actually mean only ‘so-so’ when applied to someone’s efforts).

The reviewer concluded that:

I believe that therapists at all levels will find something of interest in this book.

Praise indeed?

The journal also included an interview with Kathleen Adams, director of the Therapeutic Writing Institute & Center for Journal Therapy – which just goes to show that therapeutic writing is on the way into the mainstream……………

A bear walked past my window:

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. not bad eh!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

